Gauteng is the smallest of South Africa’s provinces, covering an area of 17 010 km2 or approximately 1,4% of the total surface area of South Africa. It is bordered by the Free State, North West, Limpopo and Mpumalanga provinces. While being the smallest province, it is also the most populous, being home to approximately 11,3 million people. Gauteng lies on the highest part of the interior plateau on the rolling plains of South Africa’s Highveld. Its capital is Johannesburg and it also contains the city of Pretoria as well as the East Rand, West Rand and Vaal areas. Gauteng continues to serve as the economic engine room of the country and the subcontinent, responsible for over 34,8% of the country’s GDP. Gauteng is the powerhouse of South Africa and the heart of its commercial business and industrial sectors.

The three most important sectors contributing to GDP are finance, real estate and business services; manufacturing; and general government services. Gauteng is also the financial-services capital of Africa. More than 70 foreign banks have their head offices here, as do at least the same number of South African banks, stockbrokers and insurance giants. Gauteng is divided into three metropolitan municipalities, the City of Johannesburg, the City of Tshwane and Ekurhuleni Metro, as well as two district municipalities which are further subdivided into seven local municipalities.

Contact Details:


  • Monga Phaladi
  • Tel : 011 492 0004 / 3
  • Cell :072 156 5008

Deputy Chairperson:

  • Mr Vusi Nunwana
  • Tel:011 492 0003
  • Cell :073 048 9841


  • Mr Duma Thomo
  • Tel:011 492 0003
  • Cell :071 570 6276